TIE Foundation

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

The 2018 TIE Foundation Spracale Education Awards Dinner – May 4, 2018

TIE Dinner_Invite_2018 May 4, 2018 5:30-9:00 p.m.

To become a sponsor at the 2018 TIE Dinner, please select a sponsorship level below. 

Download Sponsorship Tiers and Benefits Flyer

View our Sponsors

Sponsorship Tiers:

To purchase tickets to the 2018 TIE Dinner, please select an option below. 

Purchase Tickets:

 If you have questions, please contact Heather McDaniel at (480) 730-7101.


Help us build a better tomorrow...TODAY!

Our children are the future. If we fail them today, we can expect that their "tomorrow," as well as that of our nation, will be something tremendously less than what we all hope for. If we take pride in our children and help them realize their potential, then we can all be assured of a bright future.   

Our Mission

Tempe Impacts Education's caring volunteers collaborate with community groups to foster excellence in our Tempe Elementary School District students, families and educators by securing resources to empower them to successfully accomplish their goals.

Make a difference in the lives of our children

With your help, the TIE Foundation can target these areas: 

  • Connecting With Kids - A service center providing for children in need of:
    • medical services
    • dental services
    • hygiene items
    • school supplies
    • eye care
    • clothing
    • backpacks
  • Beans and Rice Program - Approximately 12,000 lbs of beans and rice are distributed each year to more than 1,000 families. 
  • Scholarships and Transportation - for students to attend summer enrichment school
  • Musical Instruments - for students so they can participate in band and orchestra
  • Awards - for student and employee recognition
  • Scholarships for Classified Staff and Certified Teachers - to obtain certificates in areas of critical need
  • Hands-on Materials - for science and math classes

Become a Contributor Today

Your contribution to the TIE Foundation can help us achieve our goals and begin to make a difference for our children. Your donation is tax deductible, as the TIE Foundation is a non-profit 501(3)(c) with ID#86-0670224 and United Way #1274. If you are an individual or an organization and would like to make a secure online donation to the TIE Foundation through PayPal, please click on the "Donate" button below:


The Joseph P. Spracale Commitment to Education Award

The Joseph P. Spracale Commitment to Education Award is given annually to recognize an employee of the district who has made or is making a significant contribution to education in the Tempe Elementary School District. This contribution has to have been for 10 years or more. (Current TIE Foundation Board members are not eligible for the Award.) 

Congratulations to Jeff Homstad, Bond Project Manager - Facilities Management for Learners, the 2017 recipient of the Joseph P. Spracale Commitment to Education Award!


This award is given each year to an employee of TD3 who has made a major contribution to the education of our children for a minimum of 10 years.

Jeff Homstad has demonstrated that commitment to Tempe children for nearly 30 years. On his employee badge, it says Jeff is a project manager for FMFL, but he is much more than that. If you go throughout TD3 and you talk to teachers, administrators, principals, bus drivers — it doesn’t matter who it is — everybody knows Jeff and everybody knows that he’s the go-to person when you need something done or if you have an emergency in the middle of the night — Jeff’s your guy because he’s willing to do whatever it takes to make Tempe Elementary schools a better place to learn for our children and a better place to work for our employees.

What truly defines Jeff Homstad and the work he performs is his passion for excellence in everything he does. Whether he’s working on the design of a new school building or just performing a simple repair, Jeff brings the same passion, the same caring, the same level of excellence to each and every job he does, each and every day.      

What’s so amazing about Jeff in all the work he performs is he’s always trying to make the learning environment better for children and teachers. And he does it with such respect, so mindful of trying never to interrupt the educational process of student and teachers in schools. He truly loves TD3. He truly loves his job. And it shows in everything he does.

For these reasons, Jeff Homstad is more than deserving of the Joseph P. Spracale Commitment to Education Award.



The Ralph & Carla Lingerfelt Commitment to the Community Award

The Lingerfelt award is given to an organization or individual who has made a major contribution to the community with a heavy emphasis affecting the boys and girls in our schools and the community.  Ralph was a teacher and principal in Tempe Elementary district for over 35 years. Carla traveled the same path both as a teacher and then a principal. Both continued to support the boys and girls in the district well after their retirement.

Congratulations to Experience Corps, the 2017 recipient of the Ralph & Carla Lingerfelt Commitment to the Community Award!

Experience Corps volunteers are dedicated and committed to supporting literacy skills for the students of Tempe Elementary, helping them become more fluent and accurate readers. They show up with a smile and personalize the learning experience for the students with which they work. Many of the Experience Corps volunteers return year after year. They give our students one more adult to depend on and trust. They make connections with the students that extend beyond the lessons. Experience Corps volunteers truly have a positive impact on the children in Tempe Elementary!

For these reasons and more, AARP Experience Corps of Tempe is more than deserving of this award.


Tempe Impacts Education (TIE) Scholarships

Twice a year the Tempe Impacts Education (TIE) Foundation awards scholarships to Certified and Classified employees. Please see the Tempe Impacts Education (TIE) Scholarships page for more information.


President & Executive Director – Joseph Spracale
Vice-President – Sharon Doyle
Vice-President – Walt West
Co-Treasurers – Debra Hunter, CPA & Dr. Dale Despain, Ph.D.
Secretary – Heather McDaniel

Eric Adams
Kim Bauman
Christine Busch
Tom Canasi
Bobbie Cassano
Doug Honaker
Ralph Lingerfelt
Loretta Meador
Mark Mitchell (Ex Officio)
Adrianne Rexius
Lisa Roach
Evan Rogers
Kathy Stevens
Christine Trujillo
Brad Whitley

3205 S. Rural Road • Tempe, AZ 85282 • (480) 940-0958

Free viewers are required for some of the attached documents.
They can be downloaded by clicking on the icons below.

Acrobat Reader Flash Player QuickTime Windows Media Player Microsoft Silverlight Word Viewer Excel Viewer PowerPoint Viewer